Daily Archives: July 16, 2011

Birds of the Colorado Mountains

The moment John and I pulled into our campsite, a giant, flashy magpie lands in the tree in front of us, hops around a bit, looks around, looks at us curious but unafraid, chills out for a minute and then flies off. Through the next several days I see this bird in the neighbors trees, then hanging out at the corner store, a very intelligent and curious glint in it’s clear eyes.

It stunned me. I’d never seen a magpie in my life, save for pictures in books and stories. I’d never been this up and close personal to one. They’re HUGE for one, and I sensed an intelligence like a raven’s and a ruthlessness like a Jaybird. I’d once read a silly book about a brave robin taking on an evil horde of carrion birds led by a twisted, malicious magpie. Brian Jacques displays magpies as creatures of piratous intent in his famous book series [look up book series].

Magpies, like most other members of the Corvis family, are considered foul birds, minions of the demons or the Devil, harbringer of bad news and a bridge between the world of the living and the world of the dead.  They’re considered pests and are exterminated still in several parts of the world. They just plain have a bad reputation.

Look at that deliciously evil stare!

Magpies can symbolize both luck and misfortune, depending on the situation. Magpies as animal totems can be very strong, guiding a person into a new spiritual understanding, but likely in a way that is unexpected or unusual. Pay attention if a magpie shows up in your life unexpectedly – it’s no doubt paying attention to you!

(I believe my magpie sightings were very significant in my business life at this show. I’ll explain about the burritos in another post.)

Besides magpies, I’ve seen Stellar Jays for the first time. There’s a pair living in the trees across the road from us. There’s also a noisy crow that like to “sing” in a tree in my friend’s yard for about an hour every morning right at the butt-crack of dawn. If he doesn’t move his perch soon, he might just find a rock sling-shot up his ass.

Here’s a last warning for all of you folks thinking about camping up in Colorado: BRING A BIRD BOOK AND A PAIR OF BINOCULARS! I didn’t and it’s driving me NUTS!

<– Stellar Jay

 

There’s many more birds out here that I haven’t identified yet and it’s much easier to identify them with a BIRD BOOK than it ever is on the internet, but once I find out what it is, well, I’ll find a pic online and then there will be a “Birds of Colorado Mountains II” yay!

Peace.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Nature | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.