Bringin’ UpRoots

A Scarborough Faire Story. Composed on Friday, April 13th, 2012

 

I’m all sorts of excited over a community project a few folks out here at Scarborough are working on. For years – pretty much as long as the faire’s been here – a group of Rennies would band together and publish several little magazines – “zines” if you will – by the Rennies for the Rennies.

 

“Uproots,” as it’s called these days contained all sorts of useful and entertaining articles for the Rennie community; health tips, horoscopes, puzzles, games, cartoons, jokes, stories, reviews of local businesses, ads and coupons for community vendors and people offering services for trade or cash, Rennie personals (usually hilarious), weather information, news about parties and pot lucks, a directory, tips, tricks, instructionals, poems, and so much more, depending on who contributed. Ads are priced for Rennies, and the zines are sold every week at Bazaar for a dollar or two to cover the cost of printing.

 

I somehow unintentionally involved myself. Ok, so I call bullshit on myself – everyone who reads even one post of this blog instantly knows how much I love to write, and I can write, edit AND illustrate. I can compose a short magazine, organize it (even though I’ve barely done anything to organize this blog save to change the theme and occasionally update the widgets… he, heh….), all sorts of knowledge, all gleaned from the two years of college I barely completed. Lol.

 

Never fear, I know myself, and after meeting with the uprising Uproots group trying to put this all together and having a good idea of what’s going to happen, I know about how much I will be able to contribute through the show. I’ve already warned them that I’ll have to devote the majority of my time to making product – for the blacksmith shop in Colorado as well as for the flute cart here. I’m expecting to head back to Bastrop to make flutes all of next week (I hope, because I can’t do a whole lot at the shop until I have stock).

 

So my part in Uproots this year will be strictly hobby and I know I’m going to have a lot of fun doing it, too. I was just wondering to myself a couple weeks ago, meditating on my time in Sherwood, that so far I’ve exploited most all of my personal talents out here on the road save for my writing skills. (Not in an egotistical way, but because I love to write!) I’m thrilled and excited. ^.^

 

Cheers to the uprising of this year’s Uproots!

 

Peace.

 

Categories: Ren Faire Shenanigans | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.